WWII Division Commanders  |  4th Armored Division   LoneSentry.com

Maj. Gen. Henry W. Baird
April 1941 - May 1942.
Maj. Gen. John S. Wood
May 1942 - December 1944.
Maj. Gen. Hugh J. Gaffey
December 1944 - March 1945. [See details under 2nd Armored Division.]
Maj. Gen. William M. Hoge
March 1945 - June 1945. Gen. Hoge formerly commanded CC B of the 9th Armored Division. He commanded IX Corps in Korea and later served as Commander in Chief of the U.S. Army in Europe. He retired in 1955.
Brig. Gen. Bruce C. Clarke (1901-1988)
June 1945 - July 1945. Gen. Clarke served in the 7th Armored Division prior to joining the 4th. In the 1950s, Gen. Clarke would command the 1st Armored Division, I Corps, X Corps, and Seventh Army. He is buried in Arlington National Cemetery.
Brig. Gen. W. Lyn Roberts
July 1945 - September 1945.
Maj. Gen. Fay B. Prickett
September 1945 - Inactivation. [See details under 75th Infantry Division.]

1. The Army Almanac: A Book of Facts Concerning the Army of the United States, U.S. Government Printing Office, 1950.
2. Order of Battle of the United States Army, World War II, European Theater of Operations, Office of the Theater Historian, Paris, France, December 1945.
3. The 4th Armored: From the Beach to Bastogne.

4th Armored Division History
4th Armored Division Links
4th Armored Division Components
4th Armored Division Medal of Honor Recipients


LoneSentry.com. Contact: info@lonesentry.com.