WWII Division Commanders  |  79th Infantry Division   LoneSentry.com

Maj. Gen. Ira T. Wyche (1887-1981)
June 1942 - May 1945. Gen. Wyche commanded the division from inception until the end of the war in Europe. He later commanded the VIII Corps.
Brig. Gen. Leroy H. Watson
May - July 1945. [See details under 3rd Armored Division.]
Maj. Gen. Anthony C. McAuliffe
July 1945 - August 1945. [See details under 101st Airborne Division.]
Brig. Gen. LeRoy H. Watson
August 1945 - Inactivation. [See details under 3rd Armored Division.]

1. The Army Almanac: A Book of Facts Concerning the Army of the United States, U.S. Government Printing Office, 1950.
2. Order of Battle of the United States Army, World War II, European Theater of Operations, Office of the Theater Historian, Paris, France, December 1945.
3. The Cross of Lorraine Division: The Story of the 79th.

79th Infantry Division History
79th Infantry Division Links
79th Infantry Division Components
79th Infantry Division Medal of Honor Recipients


LoneSentry.com. Contact: info@lonesentry.com.